Pandemic Shouldn’t Stop Us From Greatness: 2021 Student Representative Council

· First virtual conferral ceremony, first international President of Student Representative Council

· New President Yearim Arba Yorkaef Hutagalung says pandemic shouldn’t stop 2021 council from achieving greatness.

Even in the face of a global pandemic, the fire of student democracy continued to burn bright in QIU, as the latest batch of student leaders were officially sworn into office last week. 

A total of 30 students, representing the diverse nature of our international family, took their oath in a virtual conferral ceremony—the first in QIU’s Student Representative Council (QSRC) history. 

They were led by Bachelor’s of Science (Hons) in Biotechnology student Yearim Arba Yorkaef Hutagalung, who is also our first international QSRC president. On an interesting note, Yearim’s appointment comes after we named our first international valedictorian in 2019, Sahibzada Mubashir Noor. 

The conferral ceremony was officiated by QIU Vice-Chancellor Prof. Zita Mohd Fahmi. Also present were Registrar Mr Muhammad MG Omar, Director of Academic Affairs Prof. Tina Lim, as well as our deans and deputy deans. 

In her speech, Prof. Zita lauded the office-bearers for overcoming the challenges of contesting a fully virtual election held in unprecedented circumstances. 

“I am proud of all of you for adapting with the times and proving that you are truly the leaders of tomorrow and can adapt to the changing times,” she said. 

“Looking at the line up of the 2021 QSRC, I am delighted that this committee is a true and fair representation of QIU students with a wonderful mix of both local and international students and equal gender representation.

“Remember that even with the challenges, serving in a leadership position is a fulfilling experience from which you will learn much about yourself and others. It will definitely prepare you for leading in your future career, community and citizenship roles.”

Meanwhile, the newly-elected President challenged his team to persevere through the COVID-19 challenge and give their best to the University and the students. 

“Due to the pandemic, we can’t physically meet and serve everyone at the campus. But this is not going to stop us from achieving greatness. I have worked with many of you here and I know our potential. We can break through, and I can tell you now that we will,” he said. 

“We can do this – we’ll create something unforgettable; we’ll make memories. Let’s keep at it so that when our term ends, we can say ‘Wow, we did a pretty good job,’ and you can say to yourself ‘I’m satisfied.'”

Congratulations once again to the new QSRC, and all the best in your tenure ahead! 

Full QSRC List 2021:

Yearim Arba Yorkaef  Hutagalung

Vice President: 
Edson Leng Man Jun

Vice President  2: 
Nur Siti Rajemma  Binti Abdul Rais

Director of Student Development:
Chan Kin Pin

Director of Administration and Operations:
Cohen Cheong Zhung Zhe

Sutharshinnii A/P Murugan

Assistant Secretary:
Amrit Kaur A/P Jasbinder Singh

Stephanie Kew Yen Nee

Assistant Treasurer:
Chan Chia Pei

International Student Representative:
Dinali Yashodha Ariyasingha Semba Kuttige

International Student Representative Assistant:
MD. Sadman Al-Fahad

Executive Committee for Sports and Recreation:
Teh Kah Yuean

Executive Assistant for Sports and Recreation:
Mai Syamira Aishah Redzuan

Executive Committee for Student Welfare:
Thanaselan A/L Raja

Executive Assistant  for Student  Welfare:
Ugeswary A/P Gunasegran

Executive Committee for Public Relations:
Rasleena Kaur  A/P Jasminder Singh

Executive Committee for External Events:
Fiona A/P Francis Sandanaraj

Executive Assistant  for  External Events:
Kenneth Chong Chee Kian

Executive Committee for Internal Events:
Lok Wei Cong

Executive Assistant  for  Internal Events:
Perry Oswanigam

Faculty of Medicine Representative:
Nashmetha A/P Shunmugam

Assistant Representative for  Faculty of Medicine:
Garima Goshal

Faculty of Social Sciences Representative:
Esther Chong Thim Sum

Assistant Representative for Faculty of Social Sciences:
Priscilla Reena A/P Punetharaja

Faculty of Science & Technology Representative:
Chan Xiao Tung

Assistant Representative for Faculty of Science and Technology:
Benjamin Sam A/L Punetharaja

Faculty of Business & Management  Representative:
Kevinjit Singh A/L Ajit Singh

Assistant Representative for Faculty of Business and Management:
Kasturi A/P Chadaran

Faculty of Pharmacy Representative:
Calvin Loh Chee Yang

Assistant  Representative for  Faculty of Pharmacy:
Loi Song Lin


Scan WeChat QR Code

Scan WeChat QR Code